Week 6 – Who loves a challenge? Gettin’ my mojo back!

So much app building to do, so little time… so I’ll make this really quick!

Sometimes all it takes is a compliment from one person to lift your mood. “Good luck pal,” from someone unexpected was all that was needed for me to ‘get my mojo back’. After feeling like I was stuck in a rut, negatives became positives. Problems were now mere challenges. And who loves a challenge? I do. Yes, I’m back baby!

I’ll admit that I’m excited for a number of reasons. The Birthday Genius app is in its final stages of development, and the development team is almost ready to hand the steering wheel over to me for testing. I’m giddy with excitement because after looking at paper designs for weeks, I’ll finally be able to see what the app looks like on my own phone. I’ll get to play with it, test it, and see it working. I’ll get to see my creation in action! Once upon a time I was dreading the ‘testing’ phase. What would happen if I didn’t like it or it didn’t work the way I had expected? But after being involved in the design process upfront, I’m confident that this won’t be the case.

austin_powers

The marketing team are also in full swing. The social media campaigns are well underway, press releases are being drafted and the media kits are being prepared (I learned this week that there is a difference between the two). There’s even a plan to use some other well-known social media tools to get The Birthday Genius out there.

So within the space of 1 week/ 7 days/ 168 hours, whatever you want to call it, I’ve gone from feeling completely deflated, to feeling pretty amazing. It’s because things are actually moving forward, and I can literally see the momentum..

I’m really glad that I was able to snap out of my mood, and I now know how easy it is to fall back into. I think part of the challenge- for me anyway- is to recognise when I’m stuck in a rut.  (Oh. My. God. Do I sound like a counsellor, or what?) I was so engrossed in the little details I forgot about the bigger picture; I was looking at the trees, not the forest. (Great, now I sound like Dr Phil!) So after the testing is completed, I’ll probably just hand over the reigns to the marketing team because after that, there’s not really much I can do but trust the sales and marketing to do its job. And I trust that I have the right team, doing the right jobs, and that they’ll do the right amount of work at the right time.

Now I am simply at the point of figuring out what is left to do. Once I’ve tested The Birthday Genius with my team of people, I’ll give the development team the feedback they need to refine the app. After refining, the app is officially completed and then submitted to both the Apple App Store and Google Play stores for launching.

Business-Social-Media

As for marketing, the team’s activities will continue to ramp up as we move closer to launch day – so keep your eyes peeled! The marketing team are following their plan- which is on schedule- and are making sure that people know about The Birthday Genius.

Check out what they’ve done on Facebook and Twitter so far…

Here’s my advice for gettin’ your mojo back:

  • Paralysis by analysis- it’s too easy to get bogged down in the little things and lose that ‘oomph’ we need to achieve the goals we set for ourselves. In my situation, I could have potentially spent months and even years analysing, changing and then analysing the little things again. It’s a bit of a vicious circle really. My advice is to step away from your situation, clear your head, and then look at the bigger picture.
  • Let it be- The Beatles were right about this one… sometimes you just have to let it be and admit that you can’t control everything. It’s tricky and extremely daunting, but you need to focus on what you do best (whatever that may be), and let the team around you focus on what it is they do best. Trust that everything will come together in the end.  Just to add a little more fun…. Click here for the “toon” itself!
Leave a Reply

